In other words, Google Photos deletes the originals. The Free up space option gives a brief overview of the number of photos and videos to be deleted. On Android you can also see the expected space savings. After tapping the option, confirm that you want to continue.
What happens if I delete data in Google Photos?
When you delete synced photos from the Google Photos app, they are deleted from everywhere: your device, the Google Photos app, the Google Photos website, and your file manager app. This happens even if your backup and sync feature is turned on and you’re using an Android or an iPhone.
Is It Safe to Clear Data on Google Photos?
No reason to worry. Clearing Google Photos data will not delete your library or valuables. It is absolutely safe, reliable and convenient. Read this article to learn more.
How can I free up space on Google Photos?
Free up device space
- Open the Google Photos app on your Android phone.
- Tap Free up device space on the side menu and then tap the Share button to delete these photos from your device. The deleted photos still exist in Google Photos.
What happens when you delete data on photos?
Deleting data will not corrupt your Google Photos library, nor will it delete any images stored on this device. This will only restart the app settings, forcing you to start over. … You have everything in the application.
Is it safe to erase data?
Clearing the cache doesn’t save a lot of disk space at once, but it does add up. … These data caches are essentially just useless files and can be safely deleted to free up disk space. Select the application you want, then the Storage tab, and finally the Clear Cache button to clear the Trash. 29
Does deleting data delete photos?
You will not lose any of your photos when the CLEAR DATA operation is done, you can do it safely. It just means your settings have been reset and cache cleared. 12
Does deleting pictures free up disk space?
If you delete copies of photos and videos on your phone, you can still: View your photos and videos, including those you just deleted, in the Google Photos and Photos app .google.com.
What should I delete when my phone storage is full?
From the app info menu, tap Storage and then Clear Cache to clear the app cache. To clear cached data for all apps, go to Settings > Storage and tap Cached data to clear caches for all apps on your phone.